Modern District of Nalanda with HQ Biharsharif was established on Nov 9, 1972. Earlier it was Biharsharif sub-division of Patna district.

The District is divided into 3 Revenue divisions for administrative convenience. A Revenue division is headed by Revenue Divisional Officer. He is the Sub Divisional Magistrate having jurisdiction over his division. An administrative Officer in the Cadre of a Tahsildar assists in administration. The Sub divisional Offices are a replica of Collectorate in the matter of number of sections and they act as intermediary in the administrative setup. Each division consists of a few Blocks whose performance is constantly monitored by the concerned Divisional Office.

There are three Sub-Divisions in Nalanda District, Biharsharif, Hilsa & Rajgir.

Out of three Revenue Sub-Divisions, Biharsharif is sadar Sub-Division and most urbanized. Hilsa sub-division is predominantly rural and agricultural. Rajgir, smallest sub-division of the three is most important from tourism perspective. Rajgir, Nalanda remains, Pawapuri are in Rajgir sub-division.